top of page
No tags yet.
TAG CLOUD
Follow Me!

Book Review: Something New: Tales from a Makeshift Bride


Title: Something New: Tales from a Makeshift Bride

Author: Lucy Knisley

Publisher: First Second

Year: 2016

Pages: 292

Genre: Graphic Novel/Autobiography

Rating: 4 stars

One sentence summary: Lucy Knisley shares her journey to wedded bliss, detailing family drama and DIY preparations through photos and drawings.

A full synopsis of this book can be found on Goodreads.

Spoiler Level: None

This was super cute! I haven't read a graphic novel or a memoir in a really long time but I enjoyed this one so much I'll definitely have to look into some more of both. The drawings were bright and colourful and just plain adorable. I also really liked the inclusion of photos as it made it seem more real and personal. As someone who is slightly obsessed with both the idea of weddings and DIY projects, I feel like I was the ideal audience for this. If you aren't into either of those things, the details of this story might bore you, but I personally loved them. I love love, and I love creativity. This is definitely a light and fluffy read, but I appreciated how the novel discussed diversity and the patriarchy in relation to marriage. Overall, a fun read.

Let me know your thoughts about Something New in the comments!

Thanks for reading!

Emily

  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • goodreads symbol4
ARCHIVES
bottom of page